Fire Bans and Permits

From 2am on Tuesday 3 October 2023, until further notice, Fire permits are now required for the following municipalities of Tasmania: Brighton, Central Highlands, Clarence, Derwent Valley, Glamorgan Spring Bay, Glenorchy, Hobart, Huon Valley, Kingborough, Sorell, Southern Midlands and Tasman.

A fire permit can be obtained by free calling 1800 000 699

Landowners in other municipalities are encouraged to register their burns by free calling 1800 000 699 to avoid unnecessary brigade responses.

Please refer to our Bushfire and Fire Permit Information page.